Why I’m Coming Out as a Christian – The Daily Beast

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2015/02/28/why-i-m-coming-out-as-a-christian.html

Was the purpose of Ana Marie’s “coming out” merely to defend the President from allegations of anti-Christianity? If it were indeed something more personal, then it drips of cynicism and self-loathing.

In my personal life, my faith is not something I struggle with or something I take particular pride in. It is just part of who I am.

Yes, the private Christian, public secularist. Such a unique story.

Tweeting out prayers and quotes from Scripture still feels subversive.

Scripture tends to have that effect on statism and secular utopianism.

No, I’m nervous to come out as a Christian because I worry I’m not good enough of one. I’m not scared that non-believers will make me feel an outcast. I’m scared that Christians will. 

Probably because you’re projecting your own judgmentalism on your fellow Christians.
Ever accused a conservative Christian of being judgmental?

Judge not, lest ye be judged?

Don’t lie! Jesus is listening.

The truth of this world’s impermanence also suggests that my anxiety about coming out as Christian has a perversely self-interested aspect.

No need for false humility. This “coming out” piece is saturated with self-interest.

It is true that I feel intimidated by a conservative culture that seems intent on creating boundaries around Christianity rather than open doors.

Those “boundaries” are actually the walls closing in on us, but you can’t see that when you’re standing on top of the wall with your guns drawn.

The image of Christianity and progressivism as a newly hip fusion genre—it’s fucking edgy, man—is a strong siren song.

Amen! The fusion of Christianity and progressivism is fucking edgy, manOr at least it was for those who were born in the late 1800s. Welcome to the party!
I presume the Wonkette’s next tactic will be to parade her Christianity to justify her continuing support for:

  • the mass murder of babies;
  • the government’s institutionalized theft of private wealth and property;
  • entitlement culture; and
  • the subjugation of faith-based businesses under her brand of government-approved Christianity.
Why I’m Coming Out as a Christian – The Daily Beast

Leave a Reply

